Destroying a Mental Block and Some Things That Piss Me Off

Flashback. April 1, 2015 – I ran more than six miles for the first time. Within a week I herniated a disc at L4L5 that required microdiscectomy surgery.

I have been afraid of this distance ever since.

I have run three miles, I have run four miles, and I have run five miles. I have participated in an organized 5K. But, I haven’t wanted to attempt the course or the distance that I associate with the accident that necessitated back surgery. Now, I may be a lot of things but I am not stupid. Bad form on a dead lift had nothing to do with running six miles. However, since the last vertebrae slippage that caused my lumbar spasms happened six weeks before this and I had a helluva time fighting my way back to running and I ended up on an operating table five weeks after this – I just couldn’t wrap my mind around this course and this distance.

It seems like every time I start pushing the distance and pushing myself something happens. Whether it be minor aches and pains or a major injury, something always happens. I’m not superstitious, I sure as hell don’t have writer’s block, I’m not a fan of psychotherapy, but something has kept me from doing this.

I know it sounds stupid. It actually sounds like so much excuse making. As much as I try to live my life by a #NoExcuses philosophy, I kept coming up with them when it came to this.

Well party people, I did it. I finally set the excuses aside and I conquered the fear. I ran six miles two days ago and I did it in less than and hour and seven minutes. I ran the same course and I survived. And I haven’t skipped any workouts. Now, the night after the run was supposed to be legs night but that wasn’t happening. I managed that last night.

IMG_8957I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again – I will never, ever do another deadlift as long as I live. But I have done arms, legs and chest since that run two days ago. I ran again today – 10 miles in three days. I’ve run 44 miles so far in January and I’m not done for the month.

Yes, my back still hurts. I probably should quit running. But I’ll tell you what I told my surgeon. That ain’t happening. However, my back pain is tolerable and I rarely take any pain medication – prescription or otherwise. Yeah, I still wake up at 3:30 a.m. every night. I won’t be happy if this level of pain persists in perpetuity but at the moment it’s the new normal. My car and my commute are killing me as much as anything.

Things That Are Pissing Me Off

Okay, first of all Facebook might possibly be the devil. Now that I have that out of the way, I have some Facebook connections who use a particular term of endearment that drives me nuts. I finally had the wherewithal to look it up and divine the source. Even though I now know that it is the title of a popular children’s book, I still would like it stricken from the lexicon. For the love of all that is holy or unholy, stop telling people, “I love you to the moon and back.” It makes no sense. It’s not a quantifiable unit of measure and I frankly think it’s one of the dumbest things you could ever tell someone. Astronomically speaking, it’s not really that far to the moon.

At the risk of sound like a crotchety old man (I have already established myself as the grumpy ‘get off my lawn guy’), there is a reality known as history. I think for folks 21 and under, nothing happened before 1995. Some recent news items have garnered some of the most inane reactions and no historical perspective whatsoever. We hide knowledge in books. Get off Facebook (says the hypocrite) and crack one open.

It’s not the first time. We all remember our first time. You never forget. But according to many young folks on the Internet, including many journalists and content creators who have no common knowledgebase or frame of reference, think that when something happens, it’s the first time that thing has ever happened in the history of the world. With this recent east coast blizzard, some folks would have you believe that snow has never fallen from the sky. Yes, Odell Beckham Jr., made a spectacular catch, but you know, there was this guy named Biletnikoff…long time ago…named an award after him.

It’s called history. You should pay attention to it lest you repeat it or somesuch. Sorry for the quote butchery.

The gratuitous use of certain adjectives has been driving me nuts lately. Is it really “awesome?” Is it really “spectacular?” Is it really the “[insert superlative here] thing ever?” I’ll admit babies are a wonder to behold, but the royals didn’t have the cutest baby in the history of ever. These click-bait photo galleries on the Internet are some of the biggest offenders. “Seventeen celebrities you didn’t know were dead and No. 12 is SHOCKING!” So and so’s engagement pictures are the most romantic [insert teenage girl squeal here]. No, it’s not. Unfortunate maybe, but I’m pretty sure we all know that guy from Glee or that Paul Walker is dead. Use the appropriate words to describe the event people.

Spelling and grammar mistakes in Internet memes are driving me crazy. If you share a meme that has a spelling or grammar mistake, you not only ruin the joke or the message, but you make yourself look like an idiot in the process. Just stop.

Something I saw right around Christmas struck a chord. I can almost understand the “so and so is in the hospital, send prayers” or the “this kid was born with no arms or with cancer” posts on social media. And for the religious folks out there, professing love for God or Jesus I kind of get. But would you greedy Christians quit begging for money?!? “Type Amen and God will bestow thousands of dollars on you by Christmas Eve.” Really? Well, it all depends on when you get your W-2 and how fast you can file you taxes. If you believe this, there’s a Nigerian prnce who needs to transfer some money I’d like to introduce you to. Just pass me your email address and I’ll hook you up.

I’m not really angry about these things. They’re just fun to write about. Okay, I am pissed about the meme thing.

Thank you for reading and indulging me, now, get off my lawn!

3 thoughts on “Destroying a Mental Block and Some Things That Piss Me Off

  1. Pingback: Destroying a Mental Block and Some Things That Piss Me Off – The Jerry Project

  2. Stacy

    Oh my goodness this made me laugh! I absolutely despise those memes. Especially the ones that say “if you don’t share this you love the devil” or some such. Congrats on the run! You’ll be ready for a half marathon if you keep this up!

Leave a Reply

