A Bonus Christmas Special Blog Because My Mind was in a Fog

Okay loyal readers, here’s the deal. My notes were lost so I tried to reconstruct my Top 10 Christmas Movies/Specials off the top of my head. That was an epic fail as I forgot one. On top of that, said the Cat in the Hat, I started my countdown surely a day too early. The original plan was to end it on Christmas Eve. That way you would not be bothered with feeling compelled to read another one of my missives on the holiest of days, and I wouldn’t feel pressured to deliver a literary present.

In my fog I decided to fill the void with Bob Hope Christmas specials, which I dearly loved and truly miss. While I was writing last night’s entry about A Christmas Story I wanted something on TV in the background that was of the season. I decided to put on Dr. Seuss’ How the Grinch Stole Christmas. Halfway through it dawned on me that this was the missing special. Duh.

So I offer an extra entry in the series.

3b. How the Grinch Stole Christmas! – 1966

Chuck Jones of Warner Bros. and Bugs Bunny fame animated this fantastic tale of Christmas redemption. Thurl Ravenscroft, the original voice of Tony the Tiger (and totally uncredited), performed the theme song, You’re a Mean One Mr. Grinch, and one of my favorite actors of all time, horror master Boris Karloff, narrated Dr. Seuss’ loose version of A Christmas Carol.

The Whos of Whoville love Christmas and the Grinch, a vile, furry green creature whose heart was two sizes two small, hated it. He hated everything to do with it. One year, he gets the awful idea to try to keep Christmas from coming. How does he attempt to do this? By stealing it of course. And he steals everything, I mean everything. He even convinces Cindy Lou Who that he is Santa Claus and that he has to take her Christmas tree to the North Pole for repairs.

Come morning the Whos don’t need trees, decorations or presents, Christmas comes anyway, the Whos starting singing and the Grinch realizes the true meaning of Christmas. He decides to return everything, and I mean everything. And the Whos even let the Grinch carve the roast beast at the annual feast.

I don’t have any real personal attachment to this other than the fact that I just love all things Dr. Seuss, I love books and I love stories. I just like this. The music is fun, Karloff is great as the narrator and Ravenscroft’s rendition of the theme has become synonymous with the Grinch character. For the record, I can’t stand the Jim Carrey live action film. Carrey is more Jim Carrey than he is the Grinch and a 30-minute cartoon was unnecessarily stretched out to a two-hour feature.

This is the only traditional 2D animation that makes my list. There’s a reason for that.

Leave a Reply

