The 100 Favorite Horror Movie Countdown Continues

I do hope you enjoyed the first entry in this year’s countdown of my 100 favorite horror movies. I’ll continue with 97-95. Again, serious spoiler alert.

97. Sinister – 2012

Ethan Hawke plays a true crime writer who moves his family into the ultimate murder house, complete with home movies. The director’s cuts of the home movies are to die for. Plenty of jump factor, fantastic promotional art and a sick twist. Vincent D’Onofrio is wasted in a weird Skype cameo. I was dumb enough to watch this movie by myself in Overland Park, Kansas. *Shiver* – never will I watch a scary movie by myself again. This one scared me silly and I am not sure why. I enjoyed it immensely.

96. Tales From the Crypt Presents Demon Knight – 1995

I absolutely loved Tales From the Crypt as a series on HBO. The two films, Demon Knight and Bordello of Blood, brought the series to feature length. William Sadler, Billy Zane and Jada Pinkett star in this delightfully wicked tale. Zane is fantastic in the dark, comedic demon role, and Pinkett becomes the Demon Knight, sworn to slay the demons. The opening scene, set to Filter’s Hey Man Nice Shot, is phenomenal.

95. Stephen King’s Sleepwalkers – 1992

Stephen King posits that the Sleepwalkers myth of ancient Egypt may be the genesis of the vampire myth we know and love. I don’t know about all that but Brian Krause and Alice Krige as incestuous son and mother cat-like vampire creatures and Madchen Amick as their hapless virgin victim make for great horror movie fodder. Krige is a holdover from the classic Ghost Story, which appears later in the countdown.

One thought on “The 100 Favorite Horror Movie Countdown Continues

  1. Pingback: Legendary Actors Scared Witless, Flying Demon with Discerning Palette and a Resurrected Icon | The Jerry Project

Leave a Reply

