A Few Notes About Exercise

I hate exercise.

I’m inherently lazy. Adopting exercise and better nutrition the past 18 months has been like an organ transplant gone horribly wrong.

I loved playing sports as a kid but I hated the training. Okay, I liked Pop Warner football practice from age 10-12 because it was the only time I got to play. I ran cross country in high school because my bad knees wouldn’t allow me to play football anymore and running got me in shape for basketball and baseball. But I honestly hate running. I can usually shut up my inner runner with pizza and beer.

In all honesty I get more out of running three miles than I do in 30 minutes on an elliptical or treadmill or exercise bike. I also get quite a bit out of these Shortcut to Shred weightlifting sessions. I’ve said it before – I’m no power lifter and some may scoff at the weight I’m able to push around, but what I do seems to work for me.

If you are in decent or good shape, take one piece of advice from me. Don’t ever get out of shape. Getting back in shape is a long, difficult road and it’s a bitch and a half. I’ll let you know when I get there.

One thought on “A Few Notes About Exercise

  1. jmason100

    Jerry, well said spot on. Getting “into” shape is one of the more difficult things I’ve ever done, and I’m not there just yet.

Leave a Reply

