Major Milestone

The first week of January I weighed 236 pounds. Yesterday I weighed in at 206. I have lost 30 pounds through diet, exercise and dogged determination. I have fought pain and my schedule, frustration and plateaus. I am nowhere near finished. I have 16 pounds to go to reach goal #1 which is 190 pounds. I want to be under 200 by my birthday at the end of this month and for the first time I really think I can get there.

However, the real purpose of tonight’s entry is not to crow about this milestone even though I am quite proud of myself. The theme of tonight’s blog is individuality.

Every human being is different. It’s what makes us an amazing species. Not that we don’t have our faults. Our ingenuity may end up costing us the planet we live on but our diversity, ability to create and curiosity are what make us the dominant species on this world.

The reason I mention it is this. What works for me may not work for you. What works for you may not work for me. Yes, we have the same common building blocks for our very existence and there is some commonality in how our bodies work. But we are products of our upbringing and environment and genetics play a major role in our health and physique.

My hope here is that I may have inspired some of you to eat healthier and exercise. There are some basic truths to nutrition and body maintenance. You are what you eat and exercise is very important. If you don’t take care of yourself, no one is going to do it for you.

Life gets in the way, I get it. Mine got in the way. It’s still in the way when it comes to certain things I still need to address. I need a sleep study and reevaluation for my sleep apnea, the colonoscopy is on the horizon, I need dental work. I have been putting all kinds of things off because I was under the mistaken impression that I am indestructible.

Well, my pocket full of kryptonite has proven otherwise. Develop a chronic back problem, apnea and have the surgery I had and you realize that by the time your 40, your body will rebel against you if you don’t take care of it.

I have gotten so much unsolicited advice the past five months. As much as I appreciate folks wanting to help, I do have a wealth of resources at my fingertips. I am happy to say, I think I finally got this.

I’m sure I’ll get frustrated, I’m sure I’ll get angry. I do like the fact that there seems to be a community of people online who are legitimately trying to change their lifestyles, lose weight and get in shape.

My point? I have had no idea what I am doing. I am making this up as I go along. That’s why I can’t stay off the scale. What I do know is that I am finding things that work for me. That’s what you should do. Find what works for you, develop a routine and stick to it.  A little trial and error doesn’t hurt. It might piss you off but you’ll learn.

Step 1: Make a decision.
Step 2: Get motivated
Step 3: The rest is up to you

If I can rework my schedule and fit it into my life so can you. It’s not easy, don’t let anyone tell you it is. But anything worth having is worth working for. If anything or anyone is worth fighting for it’s you.

Life’s hard, wear a freaking helmet.

Leave a Reply

