Food for Thought

I had a thought this morning as I was going back through last night’s blog. I recently had the occasion to attend two meetings at Buffalo Wild Wings and I enjoyed lunch at both. Their lunch menu includes the calorie count for each meal. Eight boneless wings and fries add up to 800 or more calories.

I didn’t think much of it at the time other than “wow, that’s a lot. I’ll work it off.” Think about that for a minute – 800 calories and that doesn’t include a beverage. Now, I was working so I had 140 calorie mango lemonade. Your average 12-ounce American beer contains approximately 150 calories. Do some simple math and next thing you know you’ve consumed over 2,000 calories while sucking down chicken wings, fries and beer. Couple that with the fact that you probably won’t offset it with exercise and that trip to your favorite sports bar becomes very costly. Do it often enough…nice knowing you.

Don’t get me wrong. I grew up in the cradle of chicken wings. Country Sweet, Sal’s Birdland in Rochester, Anchor Bar and Grill in Buffalo…I sought them out when I lived in Ohio…Damon’s, Rooster’s, BW3, Max and Erma’s.

I also am a sucker for a good cheeseburger. There are 590 calories in my beloved In and Out Burger Double-Doubles.

Approximately 3,500 calories equals a pound of body weight. Consider that.

I love eating out. It’s become one of my pleasures as an adult. I travel for work 10-12 times per year and eat several meals in unhealthy restaurants. I love a neighborhood bar and grill, an Irish pub, corner pizza joint, greasy spoon diner. I won’t be taking them as lightly from now on.

Leave a Reply

