Staying the Course

I must be doing something right. I am down to 223 pounds. I have lost 13 pounds since I started The Jerry Project. If I hit 221 Tuesday/Wednesday (whenever I get back on the scale) that will be 15 pounds lost.  I am feeling better and I have more energy. One of the reasons I started this journey is because I was tired of feeling like crap. I have fallen off the wagon a bit with alcohol but I think my doctor is the only person who might be chafed by this. I really don’t drink much but I have had whisky and beer as of late. My doctor says a rare four-ounce glass of red wine is okay occasionally.

Many people have been telling me lately that they can see that I have lost weight and they want to know what I’ve been doing. My three-mile walks through the gauntlet of gangster, thug squirrels are well documented but I have yet to detail my diet so here you go.

I start the day with a cup of coffee and a Jimmy Dean Delights breakfast sandwich between 6:45-7:00 a.m. I prefer the whole wheat English muffin with egg whites, cheese and turkey sausage but the Canadian bacon version is pretty good as well. I have an Atkins snack bar between 10-11 a.m. I have lunch between Noon – 1 p.m. Lunch consists of Healthy Choice soup – I prefer chicken noodle, chicken and rice and Mediterranean chicken with orzo. I tried the country vegetable recently and it was awful. If I am able to walk earlier than later then I will have Greek yogurt after my walk. If I have to wait until late afternoon I’ll have a snack bar, walk, then have the yogurt. Sensible dinner at 7:00 p.m. or so is followed by a very minimal snack between 9-10 p.m. Dinner now consists of chicken or whole wheat pasta, fish (okay, salmon once), turkey sausage and vermicelli or whole wheat egg noodles. Angel hair pasta and meat sauce now features whole wheat pasta and ground turkey instead of ground beef. Everything that was probably bad has been replaced entirely or by the healthier equivalent.

Look, I realize the diet isn’t perfect. I’m sure my doctor will bristle at some of the things I continue to consume. I still can’t get my head or lips around eight glasses of water per day, or five prunes per day. I still have to have blood work done to follow up on my cholesterol issue. I have been able to work out in the evenings thanks to the recumbent bike or the weight set on the days I haven’t been able to walk.

My walking pace has improved by three minutes since I started. I was barely able to stay under 20 minutes per mile – I am now consistently under 17 minutes per mile. I tried to jog today. Big mistake. This 223-pound body is not ready for that. Too many things moving and too much impact on the joints made it very uncomfortable.

I think the excruciating pain of the shin splints is in my rear view mirror but I am still aware of the possibility of a flare up.

The squirrels knew I was back from Texas last week. They had a lookout. I think there is a hierarchy, an org chart if you will. The fat ones are the bosses, the long skinny ones are the lookouts and the young, undernourished ones are the soldiers. I’m telling you now, if you see me on the back of a milk carton, send someone for me.

When I go for my weekend walks I am thankful for the lack of varmints in my neighborhood. It’s pleasant getting your exercise without being taunted and stalked by the rodent equivalent of the Jets and the Sharks.

If I continue to lose two pounds per week (my current pace) I’ll be less than 200 pounds by my birthday in late June. That brings a smile to my face.

One thought on “Staying the Course

Leave a Reply

