Making Progress

Nike+ Running
I’ve been using the Nike+ Running app to track my walks.

I’ve been dropping the new science and kicking the new knowledge, an MC to a degree that you can’t get in college. – The Beastie Boys, “The Sounds of Science,” Paul’s Boutique

When I started this blog I weighed 236.6 pounds. My eating habits and daily menu have been overhauled, I’m walking a minimum of three miles per day and I am making a concerted effort to not overdo it when it comes to lapses in willpower. I have long maintained that I will not starve myself during this journey.

I have documented my inability to stay off the scale because I need to see progress in order for me to maintain my motivation. I’m using Nike products such as a Fuel Band and the Nike+ app and online tools to help.

About 10 days ago I weighed in at 227.8. My normal weigh-in day is Wednesday and I was out of town this past Wednesday. So, I weighed myself Tuesday and checked in at 225.6. That is an even 11 pounds. I was in Austin, Texas, for work and I was afraid I’d misbehave. I went to the hotel fitness center only once. I got in a really good lift and 20 minutes on the treadmill. Since I was worried I slipped I got on the scale yesterday morning and weighed in at 225 even.

The recumbent bike is in the house and assembled and I have resumed my walks. During my three-mile walk yesterday I had some dull pain in my left leg but the excruciating pain of the shin splints is gone.  Resting it for a few days has done wonders. With the recumbent in the house I now have another option for some cardio if the weather is bad or the shin splints come back.

When I started this my man Tom B. told me to take before pictures (which you will never see) and find the photo of my ideal and put them side-by-side. It has taken me a long time to figure out who or what I could find as the ideal. I watched Skyfall recently with Daniel Craig. He is almost a year older than me and is the same height. He is 10 pounds lighter than my first goal. Craig is 180 pounds. The goal I set when I started is 190 pounds. I found his workout and diet online. It involves quite a bit of weight lifting. His eating habits are not far off from mine.

I know that I am no movie star. I have the perfect face for radio. However, if I can come close to that physique, level of strength and fitness I’ll be doing something. I realize there are other factors such as genetics that are in play here. But I’m going to make an attempt to go all 007.

Daniel Craig in Skyfall
Daniel Craig’s physique and fitness level are my ideal. Nice of him to deliver my car.

To that end, I’ve made a decision that pains me a little bit.

During various stages of my adult life I have enjoyed the sanctity of a home office. It has been a workspace, a refuge and a place for reflection. My current home office is a bit of a shrine to my late parents who died in 2006 and 2007, respectively. The things I inherited from them that hold the most value to me are in there. My father’s vinyl record collection, some of my mom’s collectibles, books, CDs, mementos and keepsakes are in a 360° swivel chair viewI also have a giant desk. Perched on this desk is a 30-inch Dell computer monitor. Yes, 30 inches of screen. My Dell XPS 700 is known as the Enterprise – it’s that big. It seems like I only ever turn on this electricity suck when I want to run virus scans and install Windows updates, and file my taxes with TurboTax. It has surround sound with amazing THX-certified speakers and an eight-inch sub that would put some movie theaters to shame. Thump, thump, thump. This thing generates heat and it becomes very uncomfortable to stay in my office for any length of time.

I have a small roll-top writing desk that I inherited from my folks that will be replacing the giant Ikea monstrosity (it may find a home in the garage). The Enterprise will be retired. I use my MacBook Pro when work at home anyway. The parental shrine will remain but I will be clearing space to convert my home office into a weight room. I hope to get out today and pick up the weight bench and weights. I do like the resistance bands and those will serve me well as a portable way to work out when I don’t have free weights at my disposal. It’ll hurt to give up my office in its current configuration but sacrifices must be made.

Looking at the Daniel Craig workout, I need free weights to do this. I will not get a gym membership. I’m just not going to leave the house for an hour at night, and I value sleep too much as an apnea sufferer to get up early enough in the morning to go.

I’m looking forward to walking near my office tomorrow. Six days will have passed since the squirrels have seen me. I wonder what they have in store for me. They’ve had way too many hours to plot and scheme like Mario C. Come at me squirrel. When you see my mug on the back of a milk carton you’ll know why. You just don’t invite that kind of varmint danger without suffering the consequences.

So, I’ve lost almost 12 pounds since I started this mess. Now it’s time to accelerate this and kick it up a notch. I have to train for the inevitable showdown with the squirrels.

A few friends I reconnected with in Austin have become new readers of The Jerry Project and I thank you. I hope you keep reading.

3 thoughts on “Making Progress

  1. Beau

    I really enjoy reading your blog Jerry. You are inspiring me to think about getting off my lazy butt and shed some of this weight. Keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

