The Search Continues

A gang of ground squirrels line my walking path.
A gang of ground squirrels line my walking path.

Okay, someone explain to me who the hell I have become. Today’s breakfast consisted of apple cinnamon oatmeal and Trader Joe’s pomegranate flavored Greek yogurt. Really? Yesterday I ate some egg substitute (I forgot the name of the brand) and real bacon. I read somewhere that if you absolutely have to have bacon, eat the real thing. I have found turkey bacon to be akin to shoe leather.

I was bad yesterday. The cheeseburger, fries and beer were too tempting to pass up. The gelato called to me. I haven’t had gelato in years. I did chase it all with some great English black tea, Earl Grey, good stuff.

This morning’s oatmeal was the first time oatmeal has ever passed my lips. I am not a fan. I’ll eat it because it’s good for me and I will not waste food. My father would laugh. I was the ultimate food waster as a kid. Things change when you become the breadwinner.

I am, however, becoming a fan of Greek yogurt. I had a bad experience with yogurt as a child. “Fruit on the bottom” was lost on me and I didn’t mix the contents of the cup. I vowed never to touch it again. I tried Chobani blueberry Greek Yogurt. Once I got past the smell, I found it tolerable. The black cherry is excellent and I enjoyed the pomegranate.

The challenge is finding filling meals and snacks that have the nutrition I need, less and less of what I shouldn’t eat, and not be hungry all the time. So, I thought I’d try oatmeal. I still prefer eggs (egg beater style), bacon and toast. There is so much information out there, what to eat, what not to eat, what to eat if you’re trying to lose weight, what to eat to build muscle, what to eat if you want to burn fat. It’s enough to make your head spin and your stomach churn.

As I struggle with food, I have gotten consistent with walking. Counting last Sunday, I walked five out of seven days last week. I have walked 31.4 miles so far in February compared to 12.8 miles in January. We all know why I didn’t walk as much as I would have liked in January. My goal is three miles per day. My average pace per mile for the month is 17:55 compared to 19:23 for January. I am completing a three-mile walk in about 50-55 minutes.

If I am ever stranded somewhere I now know exactly how long it would take me to walk somewhere.  So, I got that going for me.

Carl Spackler
Bill Murray as Bushwood Country Club assistant groundskeeper Carl Spackler in Caddyshack.

An elliptical may find its way into my house soon. I am excited to start getting a sweat going and shed these pounds even faster. I might even have to start playing Dance Central on the XBOX360 Kinect again as well. Don’t get your hopes up, there will be NO PHOTOS (or video) of me playing this game posted to Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, SpaceBook, MyFace or any other social media sites.

I think I figured out why my hip starts to hurt two miles into my walks when I walk near my office. Damn slanted sidewalk. My workday walking path is lined with a population of ground squirrels who act more like prairie dogs. I think they’re a gang. They just sit there staring at me as I walk by. I hear the faint sound of fingers snapping in rhythm. I think they’re planning something. If I disappear, please call someone, Carl Spackler, the assistant groundskeeper at Bushwood maybe. Damn squirrels.

Until next time, I will continue to search for healthy foods that I actually enjoy eating and increase the intensity of my exercise. Keep your fingers crossed that the scale tips in my favor once again this Wednesday.

Leave a Reply

