Frustration

My friends have been telling me that I should share my ailment and the reason I needed surgery this week. The fact is I find it embarrassing. There is a lesson to be learned from what I did to myself. In an effort to lose weight and get fit, lifestyle changes are in order. Thirteen days ago, we made drastic adjustments to our diet and I did not heed the advice of many people. I mentioned in a previous post that drinking water is becoming very important to me. I learned that lesson the hard way. I consumed way too much fiber without drinking enough water and screwed up my gastrointestinal system. Constipation is not the friend of the hemorrhoid sufferer.

Suffice to say recovery from my surgery has been extremely painful to say the say the least.The folks at the hospital were very nice, the doctor and the surgical staff were a pleasure, the care at home is great, but this whole thing is a royal pain in the ass.

DRINK WATER.

The frustrating part is that I’ve had more than one person, including my wife (who now knows more about my inner workings than she ever wanted to know), tell me that I have inspired them to eat right and exercise. People close to me who have been fit in the past are back on the wagon. I’m so frustrated because I can’t exercise because of my surgery. I got three days in before this happened. I know this is a project and that it’s not going to happen overnight. Walking from the family room to the kitchen is a chore right now and I haven’t gotten a decent night’s sleep in a week. I haven’t written because it’s uncomfortable to sit. I’ve also been having trouble with the death of the cat. He is sorely missed around here.

I know I’ve said it before, but I have come to the conclusion that daytime television is a disaster. I can only watch so many back-to-back episodes of ESPN SportsCenter. Jerry Springer is still on the air, Maury Povich is still trying to find the father, and Dr. Oz has the cure for all your ills. No wonder why I watched Caddyshack from start to finish the other day. I should be taking this time to read and write and watch DVDs that are still in the wrapper, but the pain and discomfort makes it so I don’t want to really do anything but heal.

If anyone learns anything from what I write in this blog, heed this: take care of your gastrointestinal system. The human body is an amazing machine and it is only as good as the fuel we put into it. Clog up your plumbing, even for the right reasons, and you could suffer the consequences.

3 thoughts on “Frustration

  1. Debbie (cousin)

    My husband has Crohns disease & I have IBS. So we understand your discomfort . One problem is the food choices we make , and overindulging . The way we eat in our 20’s and 30’s can cause health issues in our 40’s , 50’s & beyond. Found that out from my M.D. and experience. I wish you a speedy recovery and God Bless !

  2. Becky Steele

    Feel better. I have learned how to drink gallons of water during the day, but I haven’t gotten the fiber thing down. Truth is, in the middle of the winter, fresh fruit and veggies are extremely expensive. Grains, well you can get too much of that. You get the fiber, but you get the carbs and calories too. So I need to eat beans I guess, but my husband will kick me out of the bedroom if I eat too many of these too : ) So I am back to not changing my diet too much, but drinking lots and lots of water. If you know anything high fiber that won’t be a gazillion calories, I would appreciate the tip. And always remember – all good things should come in moderation.

Leave a Reply

