Minor Setback

I am no great author. Writing this blog is supposed to keep me on track with my weight loss efforts and provide a pleasurable creative outlet. I love to write. My job involves quite a bit of writing. I have plans for a novel someday. I’ve noticed quite a bit of traffic to the Jerry Project so far and I am grateful for that. I hope you folks enjoy reading it as much I enjoy writing it. I am surprised each time I sit down at the old computer here how much flows from my brain to the screen.

It’s funny. I was saying just this past Saturday that I may have gotten off to a slow start with the exercise and the diet and whatnot. Maybe my workouts weren’t strenuous enough. I broke a sweat last week, but I didn’t really feel like I exerted myself. My diet has always been the one thing that really needed change. Even when I was exercising four to five days per week and losing weight a couple of years ago, my diet still needed an overhaul.

Now I have had a setback. I’ve injured myself and I need a minor outpatient surgical procedure to fix it. Stupid. Stupid. Stupid. My fault. I did it to myself. I’m not going to get into detail about what I did or how I did it. I’m just very angry with myself about it. The good news is that the recovery time will be short.

The one major dietary change I have made and the one I will stick to more than any other is the drinking of copious amounts of water for health reasons. Comedian Lewis Black said the word is “thirsty” not “hydrate.” He also said that Aquafina means “the end of water as we know it.” I’ve all but cut pop out of my life (yes, I wrote “pop”), and I have started drinking lots of water. The one thing I cannot give up and will not give up is coffee. At least one to two cups per day.

Daytime television is a total disaster. I need to get this problem rectified or my mind will turn to mush. From the McJournalism on Good Morning America to Jerry Springer, I feel like I lost a few IQ points just browsing the channel guide. I don’t know exactly how long I’ll be out of commission, but I do know it won’t be television that entertains me. However, the House Hunters marathon seems to be the highlight of the daytime viewing schedule. GMA actually had a story on this morning about folks who are hosting ultrasound viewing parties. I don’t know what’s worse – the concept of an ultrasound viewing party or the fact that GMA feels this is “news.”

Dr. Oz is talking about weight loss all month long on his show. I am not a fan of such shows, but the DVR will be whirring with episodes of Dr. Oz as I try to learn as much as I can.

I also know that my sleep apnea is a hindrance to me losing weight. The CPAP machine probably saved my life. It certainly keeps me functional during the day. This will be something that I am going to try to have adjusted as part of the Jerry Project. I’m sure another sleep study will be in order. There is a surgery, but I am told it’s only 50 percent effective. One more reason to exercise and lose weight.

If the human body is a machine, this 1969 needs a complete restoration. The engine needs rebuilt, the interior needs reupholstered, shocks and springs need replaced, new wheels and tires couldn’t hurt. I just need to quit blowing gaskets. A lube job couldn’t hurt. I’ll keep the paint though – the silver gray suits me.

Sorry I am a little scatterbrained with this post. This is the first time I have felt like writing since sustaining my injury. Thanks for reading.

One thought on “Minor Setback

  1. Setbacks are a part of life, dude. Just keep powering through. I’m really glad that you’re doing this and I look forward to charting your progress. You’re an inspiration.

Leave a Reply

