Subtle Changes

Me after a haircut
Fresh haircut after getting smart and having the correct person cut it.

It’s amazing what a fresh haircut will do for you. After a miserable experience at Great Clips near work yesterday, I was treated like a king at Supercuts in Tracy this morning. I was a regular customer at that Great Clips for the better part of 10 years. But, personnel changes and the new online check-in feature (which allows employees to treat walk-ins like lepers) infuriated me. I have become a regular at Supercuts in my neighborhood, and for the life of me I don’t know why I tried to go back to Great Clips. Impatience I suppose.

The point? Making the decision to start exercising after being about as mobile as Jabba the Hut is a big step. Changing your diet and eating healthier is a big step. However, subtle changes can have an enormous impact on lifestyle. Supercuts is a half mile from my house. When I need a haircut, I normally drive. Lazy ass. Today, I chose to walk. I kept track of the walk on the Run Keeper app although my dumb ass forgot to pause it when I got to my destination. So, my numbers are slightly off. I walked 1.1 miles when normally I would drive. That’s a subtle change to a routine. That’s big for me.

Unfortunately, I did not complete my MyFitnessPal food diary entry for yesterday. I had a work function at a Mexican restaurant and just grazed. I’m not entirely sure what I ate or how many calories were contained in my victuals. I did little more than nibble and I drank several glasses of water. Normally in those situations I would drink one or more servings of regular Coke or Pepsi. Another subtle change. The meeting was at 3 o’clock in the afternoon, so instead of my usual lunch, I had some fruit and a granola bar knowing I’d be eating at the event. Previously I would have had a full lunch then consume too much at the event. However, I probably ate too much vermicelli for dinner.

Breakfast this morning consisted of two scrambled eggs, some bacon and two slices of whole grain white bread toast (yes, there is such a thing). I’ve had a few cuties and I am contemplating lunch. Looks like chicken noodle soup and a ham sandwich. I am hoping to embarrass myself with Dance Central on the XBOX 360 Kinect some time this afternoon. In case you’re wondering, there will be no photos or videos posted to Facebook of me cutting a rug…or pulling a hamstring.

On a side note as I sit here and watch the BBVA Compass Bowl, I don’t need FOX Sports’ Erin Andrews telling me about digestive health. I just don’t.

Leave a Reply

