Day 3 of the Jerry Project – Powering Through Pain

Day 3 of The Jerry Project and I had to power through some pain. I started this past Wednesday with a two-mile walk. I burned 285 calories on the elliptical yesterday morning and 288 calories on that very same medieval torture device this morning. The tendonitis in my right foot is present, and a tightening in a muscle in my lower left leg is uncomfortable but bearable.

By the way, “before” photos were taken last night.

Breakfast this morning consisted of a sausage, egg and cheese croissant and a cup of coffee. I have plenty of fruit for snacks today. Lunch is up in the air. My diet will be a work in progress as this thing moves along. I have done this before so I know to eat every few hours to energize my metabolism and to keep from overeating at meal time. I enjoyed some spicy beef and rice for dinner last night, and a couple of “cuties” for an after-dinner snack. Late-night snacking has been a problem for me and it is something that must continue to be addressed. I will be using this site as a loose guide for crafting the fat burning part of this process. (Thanks Tom B.)

I have added drinking water (gasp) to my daily life as well. A couple of 16-ounce bottles of “high-quality H2O” per day never hurt anyone. However, anyone who knows me realizes I’ve always thought drinking water for health reasons was akin to guzzling turpentine. So, this is big for me.

Music is going to play an important part in this program. Yesterday’s music of choice was Depeche Mode’s Violator while this morning I sweated to Skinny Puppy’s Bootlegged, Broke and In Solvent Seas. Nothing like dark, industrial techno to get the day started. Yeah, I’m a ray of sunshine.

I have a chronic lower back problem due to lack of exercise, being overweight and living a sedentary lifestyle. Just a few short weeks ago, my lower back was in very painful spasms. Although the spasms have dissipated, it still felt like there was a knife sticking me in one particular spot. Not to mention the general stiffness. Well, after just three days of exercise and activity some measure of flexibility is returning and the pain is starting to subside.

By no means do I feel like I could run a marathon – two flights of stairs is still cumbersome – but I do feel like I have a small bounce in my step that’s been missing for quite some time.

The next two challenges involve activity in the evening and exercise during the weekend.

I wanted to take a moment to say thank you to everyone who has read my blog already. I am overwhelmed by the response and the encouragement I have received, both public and private. Keep reading and I’ll keep writing.

2 thoughts on “Day 3 of the Jerry Project – Powering Through Pain

Leave a Reply

